You Are Here: Home » Resources » The 2009 Tourism Statistical Bulletin

The 2009 Tourism Statistical Bulletin

Tanzania covers 945,234 sq. km made up 942,832 sq. km of mainland Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika) and 2,400 sq. km of Zanzibar (consisting of the Islands of Unguja and Pemba). Tanzania is the only country in the World, which has allocated more than 25 per cent of its total area for Wildlife National Parks and protected areas.

There are 14 National Parks, 31 Game Reserves, 50 Game controlled areas, 1 conservation area and 2 Marine Parks. Tanzania’s Wildlife Resources are considered among the finest in the world and have been widely known for many years. They include the Serengeti plains, the spectacular Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, and Africa’s highest Mountain Kilimanjaro – in the North, Mikumi, Ruaha National Parks and the Selous Game Reserve in the South.


© 2022 - Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism Tanzania

Scroll To Top